1st Conference on Hydrogeophysics 

Contribution to Exploration and Management of Groundwater, Land-Use and Natural Hazards under a Changing Climate

Over the last three decades, hydrogeophysics has emerged as an important sub-discipline in hydrogeology and  ecohydrology. It involves investigations of the structure and processes of the subsurface environment, at different spatiotemporal scales, by identifying key properties and state variables related to water flow and solute transport. The first EAGE conference on Hydrogeophysics, in Bordeaux, 2021, will bring together geoscientists from academia, research institutes, industry, service and engineering companies to present and discuss the state-of-art in the latest research and advances on Hydrogeophysics.

The objective is to provide a comprehensive overview of the state of hydrogeophysical research (tools and theoretical advances) for investigating dynamic processes in subsurface settings regarding various environmental issues such as water resources management, remediation, natural and anthropogenic hazards as well shallow geothermal energy. It will allow identification of challenges and ways forward within an integrated cross disciplinary Framework.

The technical program of this first EAGE conference on Hydrogeophysics will cover the widest range of topics on geophysics (e.g. airborne/satellite, surface based and logging) applied in all types of hydrosystems of the Critical Zone (e.g. fractured, karstified and porous aquifers, volcanic and complex aquifers, island aquifers, wetlands, saltwater intrusion, permafrost) and at different temporal (from seasonal to  high frequency monitoring) and spatial scales (from sample to the catchment scale).

Scientific Committee

Konstantinos Chalikakis (Chair)
Avignon University
Max Halkjær (Co-Chair)
Ramboll Group
George Apostolopoulos
National Technical University of Athens 
Esther Bloem
Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research
Anders Vest Christiansen
Aarhus University
Nathalie Dörflinger
Danone Waters
Adrián Flores-Orozco
Technical University of Wien
Thomas Günther
Leibniz Institute for Applied Geophysics
Olivier Kaufmann
University of Mons
Patrick Lachassagne
University of Montpellier
Frédéric Nguyen
University of Liege
Myriam Schmutz
Bordeaux INP
Lee Slater
Rutgers University Newark
Panos Tsourlos
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Ute Wollschläger
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research